关于同济医院

profile01

新加坡同济医院创立于1867年, 历经百年风雨变幻和各种挑战,同济文化一如既往,同济精神历久弥新,对“不分种族、不分宗教、不分国籍、施医赠药、分文不收”的坚持,始终如一。

同济医院现址,位于振瑞路的同济大厦,落成于1976年11月28日,并由当时的总理李光耀先生主持揭幕典礼。迈入21世纪,随着我国人口逐渐老化,陈旧的同济大厦及医疗设备,已不能承受与日俱增的施医需求。2010年3月21日,为筹募扩建翻新同济大厦及医药基金的大型电视筹款节目《同济医院慈善夜》成功举行,国际巨星成龙受委担任“同济慈善大使”。在公众大力支持下筹得839万元善款,使扩建翻新工程得以顺利完成,并于2012年9月17日由我国副总理张志贤先生主持大厦扩建翻新落成典礼。

同济医院除了设有普通门诊外,还有五个特别门诊,即中风痛症针灸组、代谢组(含心脑血管疾病)、肿瘤组、生育组及肾病组。目前,同济医院聘用超过30位合格注册中医师,以及多名配药师和全职员工,为广大民众提供免费中医药门诊服务。

中医药研究和实践也是同济医院重点发展项目之一,因此,同济医药研究院于2003年应运而生,并积极展开多项中医师延续教育课程及在职培训。国内外著名的高资历中医药专科医师和教授均受邀讲授他们的专业学识。

同济医院也视培育新一代中医人才为己任,在2007年成为南洋理工大学生物医学和中医学双学位课程的临床教学基地,同时每年颁发奖学金给优秀生。多名奖学金得主毕业后回馈同济,让同济精神得以传承下去,生生不息。

2012年,在同济医院庆祝成立145周年之际,顺利完成了同济大厦的扩建翻新工程,同时为造福更多的社区年长病黎,免除他们舟车劳顿之苦,突破百多年的传统,首次走入社区,在宏茂桥3道第425座组屋底层及盛港社区中心4楼,设立社区诊所。2017年,配合同济医院创建150周年,在勿洛水池路第614座组屋底层建设第3个这区诊所。随着第3个社区诊所的设立,同济医院每天为逾1500名病患提供完全免费的中医医疗服务,常年开销达700万元。

同济医院自创院以来,一直是一所自立的民间慈善团体,它的成功归功于广大社会善心人士的大力支持、全体董事出钱出力,医师及员工的辛勤付出,不辞辛劳的无私奉献。要维持日益增加的医疗费用以及巨大的常年开销,着实不易。产业租金收入仅仅能维持部分的开支,其余大部分不足之数有赖于社会各阶层人士与多个各企业团体的善心捐助。

未来,同济医院将继续遵循崇高使命,积极迈向未来愿景,弘扬先贤们的慈善精神。

您的捐助与支持,可使同济医院永远运作不息!

同济医院是公益慈善机构(IPC),所有捐款均可获得2.5 的所得税豁免。

Organization Profile

profile01

Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution (STCMI) was established as a charitable clinic in 1867. Braving through decades of challenges, the Thong Chai spirit of giving freely has remained constant, and to this day, the institution adheres to its founding principle of “providing free medical consultation and TCM to all regardless of race, religion and nationality”.

Thong Chai Building at Chin Swee Road was opened on 28 November 1976. The ceremony was graced by the then Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew. As we faced a graying population, the aging premises and medical facilities were no longer able to meet the needs of our patients. On 21 March 2010, to raise funds for expansion plans and medical funds for the ongoing core service, the first ever mega TV fund-raising show “Thong Chai Charity Night” was held during which international superstar Jackie Chan was appointed as the institution’s Charity Ambassador. Funds of S$8.39 million were raised and expansion plans were completed successfully. On 17 September 2012, Mr Teo Chee Hean, Deputy Prime Minister, graced the Thong Chai Building Extension Opening Ceremony.

Apart from outpatient clinics, the institution also provides consultations and treatments in five special disciplines namely Acupuncture for stroke and pain management, Metabolism (include Cardiovascular diseases), Oncology, Fertility, Kidney Disease. At present, the institution employs more than 30 MOH-registered and qualified physicians to provide free TCM outpatient consultations for all with the support of dispensers and administrative staff.

As research and development of TCM medicine and further education of TCM practitioner are integral to the institution, Thong Chai Institute of Medical Research was established in 2003. It has since launched many TCM educational courses and on-the-job training programs, where highly qualified physicians and professors share their professional knowledge, thus playing a significant role in the continuing education of TCM practitioners.

In 2007, STCMI entered into a collaboration with Nanyang Technological University to be one of the centers for clinical educational for the double-degree course in TCM offered by the university. A scholarship fund for the program was set up by the institution and a number of undergraduates have been accepted as scholars. Many of them have joined the institution as resident physicians upon graduation, fulfilling the vision of the institution to preserve the knowledge and value of TCM through over generations.

When the institution celebrated its 145th anniversary in 2012, the Thong Chai Building extension was completed and the institution finally reached out to the community by setting up two branch clinics at Blk 425 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 and Sengkang Community Hub. During the institution’s 150th year of establishment in 2017, a third branch clinic at Blk 614 Bedok Reservoir Road was set up, thus enabling Thong Chai to serve more patients in the community. The institution currently provides free TCM medicines and services to more than 1500 patients daily with annual expenses nearing 7 million dollars.

Since its inception, the institution has always been an independent charitable organization. Faced with ever increasing expenses that is only partially covered by property rental revenue, the institution owes its success to the strong support of philanthropists from all walks of life, the generous donations by corporations and organizations, the contributions from its board of directors and the effort of every physician and employee.

Moving forward, the institution will continue to abide by the principles advocated by its forebears and actively promote the philanthropic spirits of its founders. Your charitable contributions and support will enable the institution to continue to serve all freely without any discrimination. STCMI is a registered charity with IPC status and all donations are entitled to 2.5 times tax deduction.